So let’s review an age old short game rule… If you can putt then putt it, if you can’t putt then chip, if you can’t chip then pitch the ball, and flop it only when you must. Why you ask? Because big swings for little shots with lofted clubs can lead to big misses! It is frequently said that your worst putt will more often than not be as good as your best chip. There is absolutely nothing wrong with using the old ‘Texas wedge’ if you can. We chip instead of pitch when possible because a chip is a much simpler stroke with less moving parts and with a much higher success ratio. A missed chip shot is also generally much less punishing than a missed pitch. And as far as ‘flopping it’ is concerned, people often say ‘well Phil does it…?’ My response is simple… ‘Phil CAN hit a flop’… Stick with the game plan of getting the ball ‘rolling’ as soon as possible and see how many fewer short game shots you need to hit. See you on the chipping green.
Have fun, Dave Lengyel